Space Medicine Association 2018 Awards

July 25, 2018

Space Medicine Association 2018 Awards

The Space Medicine Association (SMA) held its luncheon and meeting on Thursday, May 10.

The SMA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to James M. Vanderploeg, M.D., M.P.H., by SMA president John B. Charles. The Jeffrey P. Sutton Scientific Achievement Award was presented to John B. Charles, Ph.D. (left), by Jeffrey P. Sutton (right).
Michael R. Barratt, M.D. (right), received the President’s Award from Space Medicine Association President John B. Charles, Ph.D. (left). Dr. Barratt was unable to attend the SMA meeting this year, so the award was presented in Houston. Charles Mathers (left) presented the Space Medicine Association Journal Publication Award to Eric Friedman, M.D. (right), for his role as first author of the article “A Psychiatric Formulary for Long-Duration Spaceflight” [AMHP 2017; 88(11):1024-1033]. His co-author was Rebecca Blue.


Incoming SMA President Joe Dervay (right) presented outgoing President John Charles (left) with the Past President’s plaque and gavel.