DeVoll Installed as President; Northrup Is President Elect

May 28, 2021

DeVoll Installed as President; Northrup Is President Elect

James DeVoll, M.D., M.P.H., was installed as the President of the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA) for 2021–2022.

The gavel was passed to him on May 23, 2021, during an online meeting of the AsMA Council. Normally this would happen during our annual meeting; however, that has been postponed until August. Dr. DeVoll is currently Manager of Medical Appeals in the Medical Specialties Division of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Office of Aerospace Medicine. For a full biography of Dr. DeVoll, please refer to the June 2020 edition of AsMA’s “Ever Upward”:
   Susan E. Northrup, M.D., M.P.H., was elected as President-Elect of AsMA. The voting was accomplished online due the continuing COVID-19 pandemic. Dr. Northrup was also recently appointed as the first female FAA Federal Air Surgeon. She joined the FAA in April 2007 as the Southern Regional Flight Surgeon. She is now responsible for all aerospace medicine efforts within the FAA, including airman medical certification, air traffic control health program, AME designee management, internal and external substance abuse testing, and aeromedical research. She was awarded the FAA’s Flight Surgeon of the Year Award in 2008 and Outstanding Manager in 2018. In 2017, she was selected as the Senior Regional Flight Surgeon with operational responsibilities for the entire nation. As a civilian and prior to the FAA, she was Regional Medical Director for Air Crew and Passenger Health Services for Delta Air Lines from 2001 to 2005, Medical Consultant for the National Pilots Association 2005 to 2007, and did other consulting from 2005–2007. Dr. Northrup served in the U.S. Air Force on active duty from 1990 to 2001, and as a Reservist from 2001 to 2010, retiring as a Colonel.
   Dr. Northrup obtained a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry with Honors in Liberal Arts from The Ohio State University in 1985 and stayed on to get her Medical Degree in 1989. She was awarded a Masters in Public Health from the University of Texas, Health Science Center Houston, School of Public Health in 1994. She completed Residencies in Aerospace Medicine and Occupational Medicine in 1995 and 1996, respectively, becoming Board Certified in both disciplines.
   A private pilot, she is an acknowledged expert in aviation medicine. While serving in the Air Force, she was the U.S. Head of Delegation to NATO’s aeromedical working group. More recently, she has served the FAA as the FAA medical subject matter expert to ICAO’s COVID response activities and the COVID IMT and the Office of Aerospace Liaison to the Air Traffic Organization.
   Dr. Northrup’s awards and honors include TAC Flight Surgeon of the Year, the Air Force Meritorious Service Medal with two oak leaf clusters, the Air Force Achievement Medal with a single oak leaf cluster, and the Air Force Outstanding Unit Award with Valor and a single oak leaf cluster. The Aerospace Medical Association presented her with the John A. Tamisiea Award in 2015 and the Admiral John C. Adams Award in 2020. A Fellow of AsMA, she is a member of the Red River Valley Fighter Pilots Association, the Society of USAF Flight Surgeons, the International Airline Medical Association, the Civil Aviation Medical Association, and the American Society of Aerospace Medicine Specialists. She spent nine years (2007–2016) as a trustee for the American Board of Preventive Medicine in several capacities, including as the Vice Chair Aerospace Medicine. She is also a Selector for the International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine and was Chair of the Air Transportation Association Medical Committee. She is on the Adjunct Faculty for the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine.

Other newly elected or re-elected officers of the Aerospace Medical Association are: Karen Klingenberger, Secretary; Barry Shender, Vice President; Joseph Dervay, Vice President. Members-at-Large with terms expiring in 2024 are: Rowena Christensen, Harriet Lester, Ian Mollan, and Deborah White.