AsPS Luncheon and Awards

July 31, 2019

AsPS Luncheon and Awards

The Aerospace Physiology Society held their luncheon on Wednesday, May 8, and handed out awards.

Board Certification (CAsP): CDR Tyler Scheeler (left) presents the certificate to LCDR Darci Hook (right).

Board Certification (CAsP): 
CDR Tyler Scheeler (left) presents the certificate to LT Constance Ramsburg (right).

Paul Bert Award: This year’s winner of the Bert award was Professor Peter Hancock, Ph.D., D.Sc. He was unable to be at the meeting, so Brian Munoz (center) accepted the award for him from Bill Ercoline (right) and Maj. Elizabeth Combs (left). The award is sponsored by KBR.

Fred A. Hitchcock Award: Lt. Col. Nathan Maertens (right) receives the Hitchcock award from Lt. Col. Thomas Massa (left). Sponsored by International ATMO.

Wiley Post Award: This year’s winner of the Post award was Maj. Christianne Opresko (right). In the photo, she accepts the award from Paul Ninefeldt (left). The award is sponsored by Gentex Corp.

Partnership in Education: Mr. Robert Hill (right), Hyde Park Middle School, Las Vegas, NV, was the recipient of the 2019 Partnership in Education Award, sponsored by AsPS. In the photo, he accepts the award from Maj. Andrew Metelko. Mr. Hill has been an instructor in earth science, physics, and chemistry for over 20 years. His students have been recognized in various competitions, including a group he guided to win the NASA Space Settlement Award. They were the only U.S. middle school group to win.


Luncheon Speaker: Mr. Thornton D. Barnes (left) accepts the commemorative plaque for being the AsPS luncheon speaker from Dr. Shane Jacobs (right). The plaque is courtesy of David Clark Co.