Aerospace Medical Association Fellows Group Meeting in New Orleans May 14, 2007

- **1. Call to Order:** The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:00 pm in the Sheraton Hotel, New Orleans.
- **2. Deceased Fellows:** Comments were made to identify and memorialize Fellows who had passed away over the previous year. A moment of silence was observed to honor the passing of these Fellows.
- **3. Comments on the agenda:** The meeting agenda was reviewed. No additions to the agenda were recommended.
- **4. Election of New Fellows:** The final phase of the annual election process was undertaken according to the Aerospace Medical Association Bylaws in effect at the time of the meeting. Nine new Fellows were elected on the first ballot. Following comments on the election process and the remaining nominees, an additional six new Fellows were elected to complete the Fellows Class of 2007. The following new Fellows were elected:

Karen J. Breeck, MD
Marie-Paule Charetteur, MD, PhD
John B. Charles, PhD
Mary A. Cimrmancic, DDS
Yvette M. DeBois, MD, MPH
Anthony B. Evans, DB, MBChB
Viktor Harsch, MD, PhD
Raymond V. Johnston, FRCP, FFOM, MBA
Brian J. Lisher, MBBS, DAVMed
Thomas D.F. Luna, MD, MPH
Graeme D. Maclarn, MBBS
Hernando J. Ortega, MD, MPH
David B. Rhodes, MD, MPHTM
Charles R. Tupper, MA
Heiko Welsch, MD

5. Election Process Reform Initiative of 2007: The Chair initiated an explanation of the proposed new Fellows election process. The fact that the election reform initiative had been presented at the Council Meeting on May 13th was mentioned. The following motion to approve the process by which new Fellows are elected was made and seconded:

A new process by which Fellows are elected shall be instituted for the election of the 2008 Class of Fellows and for the class years that follow. This process is in accordance with bylaws Article IV, Fellowship, Section B.4, "Fellows will be elected annually through a published process developed by the Fellows and approved by Council." The features of this process include the building of a slate of nominees by a Fellows Nominating Committee, the management of evaluation criteria by a Fellows Evaluation Committee, election by vote on the slate of nominees at the annual Meeting of Fellows, and voting by proxy for those who can not attend. The process is based on the *Fellows Election Process Assumptions document of March 18, 2007* and the *Fellows Group Organizational Structure and Fellows Election Process Milestones document of March 23, 2007*. These documents should be maintained for reference and the *Aerospace Medical Association Policy Procedures* document should be changed to reflect the new election process.

A motion was made, seconded, and passed to use a secret ballot voting process for the election process reform motion. Following proper discussion, the election process reform motion passed by majority vote of the Fellows attending the meeting.

- **6. Committee Member Solicitation:** The Chair requested that Fellows volunteer to serve on the Fellows Committees according to the new election process that had been explained, discussed, and passed. Many Fellows expressed immediate interest in serving by immediately passing notes to the Chair as had been requested.
- **7. Election of the Fellows Group Chair:** A motion was made and seconded to re-elect George K. Anderson as Fellows Group Chair for another year. Following brief comments, the nominations were closed, and the nominee was elected by a majority vote of the Fellows.
- **8. Adjourn:** The Chair thanked the Fellows for the opportunity to serve and invited the Fellows to the evening dinner event to follow. At 7:25 pm a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and passed.

Respectfully,

* Signed and approved by motion at the May 12, 2008, Fellows Group Meeting in Boston.

George K. Anderson, MD, MPH, FASMA Chair, Fellows Group