## Aerospace Medical Association Fellows Group Meeting in Los Angeles May 4, 2009

**1. Call to Order:** The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:05 pm in the Westin Bonaventure Hotel.

**2. Deceased Fellows:** Attendees made comments to recognize and memorialize Fellows who had passed away over the previous year. A moment of silence was observed to honor the passing of these Fellows:

Earl T. Carter, MD, PhD Emmet B. Ferguson, MD Col. Randall M. Falk, USAF, MC James G. Gaume, MD Charles C. Gullett, MD Edwin Hendler, PhD Louis R. Krasno, MD Isao Kuroda, MD Ernest E. Martin Joseph P. Pollard, MD Richard G. Snyder MA, PhD Earl H. Wood, MD Anchard F. Zeller, PhD

**3. Comments on the agenda:** The meeting agenda was reviewed. No items of New Business were added.

**4. Approval of Meeting Minutes:** The Minutes of the Fellows Group Meeting in Boston, May 12, 2008, as posted at the Fellows website, were approved by motion, second, and vote without change. These minutes will be posted for the record at the Fellows website.

## 5. Election of New Fellows:

The Chair of the Fellows Nominating Committee, Jim Vanderploeg, presented the slate of nominees for election to Fellow as the Class of 2009. A motion to elect this slate of nominees was made and seconded. A question about the biographical information on each nominee in the slate document was answered. This information was provided by the candidate for nomination but was not mandatory. In order to ensure that better information is provided for election purposes, we intend to make this information mandatory as part of the process in future years. The vote on the slate of nominees as presented was taken when all discussion came to an end. The election of the slate was completed by unanimous vote. Twenty-five new Fellows were elected as the Fellows Class of 2009. The following new Fellows were elected:

Jorge Behaine Gregg Bendrick William Bernard Thomas Bettes Christopher Borchardt David Kim Broadwell Tyson Brunstetter Mark Campbell Walter Dalitsch Charles Doarn Mark Edwards Richard Folga Karen Fox Rene Germa Robert Johnson Jeffrey Jones Mads Klokker Phillip Parker Jeb Pickard Veronika Prinzo Jane Risdall Diane Ritter James Ross Michael Russo Robert Ryan

## 6. Old Business:

An action item was recorded in the minutes of the Boston Meeting in follow-up of the discussion of the free dinner tradition. Malcolm Cohen agreed to work with the Chair of the Fellows Group and the Association Executive Director to find a way to fund the free dinner for future new Fellows. Although the concept continues to be of interest, there has been no progress made to date in the quest to find new funding for the dinners.

At the Boston Meeting a motion was passed to accept the offer to work with the Aerospace Medical Association Foundation to establish a process by which the Fellows Group is involved in selecting the Foundation's grantees. Melchor Antunano served as the Chair of a Fellows Group Committee that has taken this responsibility. A report on the activities of the Committee was presented.

A motion to establish the Fellows Scholarship Committee, chaired by Melchor Antunano as a standing committee of the Fellows Group was made and seconded. Following discussion of the process, this motion was passed by voice vote. A charter for the committee will be formulated and circulated to the members of the Fellows Group.

## 7. New Business:

The fifty dollar Fellow initiation fee has remained unchanged for decades. No attendee could remember paying anything other than fifty dollars at the time of initiation. A motion was made and seconded to increase the initiation fee to one hundred dollars. This motion received considerable discussion aimed at determining the costs related to the Fellows Group activities. Once this exchange of views concluded, the motion was clearly passed by voice vote with only one Fellow expressing a negative vote.

The discussions of the financing of the free dinner for new Fellows and the Fellow initiation fee resulted in comments about the funds that are maintained for the Fellows by the Association. The amount was reported to be about \$7,000.00, which was originally gathered through the action of Chuck Berry some years ago. A motion was made and seconded to use those funds in support of the free dinner for new Fellows. This motion passed by voice vote after additional discussion.

It was agreed that the expenditure of the Fellows free dinner funds be tracked by the Association. It was also suggested that a continuing fund might be established to which donations might be made to sustain the Fellows free dinner fund.

**8. Introduction of the Fellows of the Class of 2008:** Each member of the Fellows Class of 2008 was asked to provide introductory comments to the Fellows Group. Many of the following group did so:

Cynthia Brown John Caldwell Cyd Courchesne Dennis Deakins Ramon Dominguez-Mompell Charles "Chuck" Fisher Charles "Bruce" Green Nicholas Green Robin Griffiths Norbert Kraft Stein Kravik Gordon Landsman Matthew Lewis Guahoa Li Michael Lischak Valerie Martindale Mark Mavity Vincent Michaud Jeffrey Moore David O'Brien

Page 2 of 3

Huberto Ramos Daniel Repperger Roland Reynolds Kazuhito Shimada Jarnail Singh Tracy Smart Donald Sprague Glenn Wilson Andrew Woodrow Donald Yoho

**9. Election of the Fellows Group Chair:** Nominations from the floor for Chair of the Fellows Group were opened. George Anderson was nominated. A motion to close nominations was made, seconded, and passed by voice vote. A motion to re-elect George Anderson as Chair was made, seconded, and passed by voice vote.

**10. Recognition of the Fellows Committee Chairs:** The following Fellows Group Committee Chairs were thanked for their services and received applause for their efforts:

Pete Mapes – Fellows Evaluation Committee Chair Jim Vanderploeg – Fellows Nominating Committee Chair Larry Marinelli – Fellows Arrangements Committee Chair

Pete Mapes was presented a silver star shaped paper weight engraved as, "Dr. Pete Mapes, FAsMA, The First Fellows Evaluations Committee Chair."

Jim Vanderploeg was presented a silver star shaped paper weight engraved as, "Dr. Jim Vanderploeg, The First Fellows Nominating Committee Chair."

The contributions of Chuck Fisher to the FEC were also publicized and his work was recognized by applause.

Pete Mapes will replace Jim Vanderploeg as Fellows Nominating Committee Chair. Chuck Fisher will serve as Fellows Evaluations Committee Chair. Bob Orford will serve as Fellows Arrangements Committee Chair for our Phoenix Meeting in 2010.

11. Future Meeting: Phoenix in May of 2010.

**12.** Adjourn: The Chair thanked the Fellows for the opportunity to serve and invited the Fellows to the evening dinner event to follow. At 7:10 pm a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and passed.

Respectfully,

seage KUnder

George K. Anderson, MD, MPH, FAsMA Chair, Fellows Group

\* Approved by vote at the Fellows Group meeting on May 10, 2010, in Phoenix.