## Draft Minutes Aerospace Medical Association Fellows Group Meeting in San Diego May 12, 2014

**1. Call to Order:** The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 6:00 pm in the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel.

**2. Deceased Fellows:** Attendees made comments to recognize and memorialize Fellows who passed away over the previous year. A moment of silence was observed to honor the passing of these Fellows:

George R. Anderson	Alice Stoll
Sam L. Pool	Leo van der Ries
Joseph M. Quashnock	

**3. Comments on the agenda:** The meeting agenda, which had been posted at the AsMA website, was reviewed. No additional items of New Business were added.

**4. Approval of Meeting Minutes:** The Minutes of the Fellows Group Meeting in Chicago, May 13, 2013, as posted at the Fellows website, were approved by motion, second, and vote without change. These approved minutes will be posted for the record on the Fellows website.

# 5. Election of New Fellows:

The Chair of the Fellows Nominating Committee, Charles Fisher, presented the slate of nominees for election to Fellow. A motion to approve the resolution to elect the Fellows Class of 2014 was made and seconded. Discussion of the names on the final ballot took place. The vote on the final resolution was taken when all discussion came to an end. The following fifteen Fellows were elected as the Fellows Class of 2014:

John P. Albano	Ernest J. Prochazka
J. Lynn Caldwell	Donald C. Siegel
Volker R. Damann	Lawrence W. Steinkraus
James R. Elliott	William J. Tarver
Louis G. Gilleran	Richard D. Vann
Michael J. Harrigan	Donald J. White
Andrew C. Marchiando	Daniel O. Wyman
Robert M. Monberg	

The Fellows Class of 2014 will be announced at the Annual Awards Banquet.

#### 6. Old Business:

- Review of the Fellows nomination and evaluation process: Dr. Charles Fisher, Chair of the Nominating Committee, and Dr. Warren Silberman, Chair of the Evaluation Committee, reported on the nomination process conducted over the past year by the Fellows Nominating and Evaluation Committees. They reminded the Fellows that nominees are evaluated in six categories:
  - 1. AsMA participation
  - 2. Presentations

- 3. Publications
- 4. Aerospace teaching
- 5. Professional activity and education
- 6. Aviation related activities

Dr. Silberman reported on the use of the Home Office Biographic Data Form and how additional changes are needed before this form can fully replace the manual process of evaluation and scoring. Dr. Fisher and Dr. Silberman reported on the lack of consistency in the response and level of details provided by nominees for Fellow. The result, in some cases, is limited information being available for the committees and the Fellows upon which to base their voting decision. He reported that the Evaluation and Nominating Committees will again be requesting a letter of recommendation from each Fellow who places a name in nomination for consideration by the Nominating and Evaluation Committees. The committees will also request a one-page statement from each nominee addressing the question *"Why should I be elected a Fellow of the Aerospace Medical Association?"* These statements will be provided by the Nominating Committee as background material with the initial and final ballots sent to the Fellows Group for review prior to the election.

- Report on Fellows activities related to the Aerospace Medical Association Foundation: Dr. Melchor Antuñano, Fellows Scholarship Committee Chair, provided comments on the activities related to the Foundation and to the scholarship activities of the Association. The amount of the Foundation funded scholarship is \$2,000. One scholarship was awarded this year and the winner will be our guest at the Fellows Dinner tonight. Fellows were encouraged to donate to the Foundation to support the continuation of the Fellows Scholarship.
- **Report on relationship with Associate Fellows Group:** The Chair reported on the interactions with the Associate Fellows Group including the participation of several Associate Fellows on the Fellows Evaluation Committee, the joint reception held during the AsMA Annual Meeting, and the presentation made by the Chair of the Fellows Group at the Associate Fellows breakfast meeting each year.
- **Fellows Group communications:** The Chair reminded the Fellows that they should check the Fellows pages at the AsMA website to ensure they are familiar with the information posted there. Keeping e-mail addresses up-to-date is essential, as that is the primary mode of communication with the Fellows.

# 7. New Business:

No items of new business were raised from the floor.

**8. Recognition of the Fellows Committee Chairs:** The following Fellows Group Committee Chairs were thanked for serving with distinction over the past year and received applause from the Fellows:

- Charles Fisher Fellows Nominating Committee Chair
- Warren Silberman Fellows Evaluation Committee Chair
- Peggy Matarese Fellows Arrangements Committee Chair
- Melchor Antuñano Fellows Scholarship Committee Chair

**9.** Introduction of the Fellows of the Class of 2013: Each member of the Fellows Class of 2013 was asked to provide introductory comments to the Fellows Group. Many of the following group were present and did so.

- Lance Annicelli
- Philip Buys
- Mark Coakwell
- William Ercoline
- Jochen Hinkelbein
- Martin Hudson
- Patrick McGinnis

- Joseph McKeon
- Brian Musselman
- Brian Hadley Reed
- Thomas Smith
- Roscoe VanCamp
- Justin Woodson

## 10. Election of the Fellows Group Chair:

 Nominations from the floor for Chair of the Fellows Group for 2014 – 2015 were opened. A motion to re-elect James Vanderploeg as Chair was made, seconded, and passed by voice vote.

## 11. Fellows Committee Chairs for 2014-15:

The Chair recommended the following individuals to Chair the respective committees. These recommendations were approved by the Fellows by voice vote.

- Fellows Nominating Committee Chair Dr. Estrella (Star) Forster
- Fellows Evaluation Committee Chair Dr. Warren Silberman
- Fellows Arrangements Committee Chair Ms. Genie Bopp
- Fellows Scholarship Committee Chair Dr. Melchor Antuñano

**12. Future Meeting:** Lake Buena Vista, Florida, May 11, 2015

#### 13. Adjourn:

The Chair thanked the Fellows for the opportunity to serve and invited the Fellows to the evening dinner event to follow. It was announced that Dr. J Melchor Antuñano was to be the Fellows Dinner speaker. At 7:00 pm a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and passed.

Respectfully,

James M. Vanderploeg, MD, MPH Chair, Fellows Group