2020 AsMA Fellows Scholarship Winners

2020 AsMA Fellows Scholarship Winner Announced

by Melchor Antuñano, M.D., M.S., Chairman, AsMA Fellows Scholarship Committee
The AsMA Fellows Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce their selection of the 2020 scholarship winners.

The 1st Place Winner was Dr. Hansjorg Schwertz for his presentation and published manuscript on "Hypergolic Propellant Off-Gassing: Implications for Decontamination and Evacuation”.

The 2nd Place Winner was Dr. Michelle Hong Chan for her presentation and manuscript on “Strange Behavior in an Aviator”.

The AsMA Fellows Scholarship is funded by the AsMA Foundation and is presented annually to two AsMA members who are students in an aerospace medicine residency program, graduate program in aerospace medicine (Master or Ph.D.), medical certificate or aerospace diploma course, or in a full time education/training program in the allied fields of nursing, physiology, human factors, psychology, ergonomics, and engineering.  Selection criteria include delivering a slide or poster presentation as a first author at the AsMA Annual Scientific Meeting and then submitting a manuscript as first author for publication in AsMA’s Aerospace Medicine & Human Performance (AMHP) Journal based on the same topic and/or material covered in the slide or poster presentation.   The 1st and 2nd Place Winners are selected by the AsMA Fellows Scholarship Committee based on the highest scientific value, originality, quality and relevance of the applicant’s presentation and AMHP manuscript related to the field of aerospace medicine (including allied scientific disciplines).  Special consideration is given to those applicants who are at an early stage in their career development. The scholarship monetary awards are used for the purpose of underwriting, in whole or in part, the cost of registration fees, transportation, hotel accommodations, or any other valid fees or expenses incurred by the winners in relation to their attendance at one or more scholarly meetings on topics related to aerospace medicine.
Due to the cancellation of the AsMA meeting in Atlanta as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 AsMA Fellows Scholarship candidates were unable to deliver their presentations, which is an eligibility requirement. Four of the candidates submitted their manuscripts and were approved for publication in the AMHP journal (second eligibility requirement). Therefore, these four candidates were considered eligible for the 2020 scholarship but only three of them delivered the required presentation during the 2021 AsMA meeting in Denver, CO.

Melchor Antuñano, M.D., M.S.
AsMA Fellows Scholarship Committee