2017 AsMA Fellows Scholarship Winners

2017 AsMA Fellows Scholarship Winner Announced

by Melchor Antuñano, M.D., M.S., Chairman, AsMA Fellows Scholarship Committee
Dr. Michael F. HarrisonDr. Michael F. Harrison
The AsMA Fellows Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce their selection of the 2017 scholarship winners. Michael F. Harrison, M.D., Ph.D. was the 1st Place winner ($2,000) for his presentation and publication of a manuscript on "Pre-Flight, In-Flight, and Post-Flight Imaging of the Cervical and Lumbar Spine in Astronauts.”

The 2nd Place winner ($1,000) was Rahul Suresh, M.D., M.S. for his presentation and publication of a manuscript on “Dysrhythmias in Laypersons During Centrifuge-Simulated Suborbital Spaceflight.”

Dr. Rahul Suresh
 The AsMA Fellows Scholarship is funded by the AsMA Foundation and is presented annually to two AsMA members who are students in an aerospace medicine residency program, graduate program in aerospace medicine (Master or Ph.D.), medical certificate or aerospace diploma course, or in a full-time education/training program in the allied fields of nursing, physiology, human factors, psychology, ergonomics, and engineering.  Selection criteria include delivering a slide or poster presentation as a first author at the AsMA Annual Scientific Meeting and then submitting a manuscript as first author for publication in AsMA’s Aerospace Medicine & Human Performance (AMHP) Journal based on the same topic and/or material covered in the slide or poster presentation. The 1st and 2nd Place Winners are selected by the AsMA Fellows Scholarship Committee based on the highest scientific value, originality, quality and relevance of the applicant’s presentation and AMHP manuscript related to the field of aerospace medicine (including allied scientific disciplines).  Special consideration is given to those applicants who are at an early stage in their career development. The scholarship monetary awards are used for the purpose of underwriting, in whole or in part, the cost of registration fees, transportation, hotel accommodations, or any other valid fees or expenses incurred by the winners in relation to their attendance at one or more scholarly meetings on topics related to aerospace medicine.

Melchor Antuñano, M.D., M.S.
AsMA Fellows Scholarship Committee