Space Medicine Association 2019 Awards

July 30, 2019

Space Medicine Association 2019 Awards

The Space Medicine Associaton held its luncheon on Thursday, May 9, where its awards and scholarships were given out.

Scientific Achievement Award: John Charles (center right) accepts the achievement award for Inessa Kozlovskaya, M.D., Ph.D., D.Sc., from Joseph Dervay (far left), Judy Hayes (center left), and Charles Mathers (far right). This award is sponsored by Jeffrey P. Sutton, M.D., Ph.D.

Lifetime Achievement Award: William Carpentier, M.D., M.Sc. (right), accepts the award from Joe Dervay (left).

SMA Journal Award: Michael Harrison, M.D., Ph.D. (center), accepts the journal award from Joe Dervay (left) and Charles Mathers (right).

President’s Award: Michelle Frieling (right) accepts the award on behalf of Ashot Sargsyan, M.D., from Joe Dervay (left).

The finalists for the Jeff Myers Young Investigators Award are pictured with Jeff Myers (4th from the left). From left to right they are: 2nd Lt. Alex Gaines (1st runner-up); Laura Galdamez, M.D.; LT Daniel Weinberg; Astronaut Serena Aunon-Chancellor; Flt. Lt. Srihari Enakel (1st runner-up); Jay Shah ( Honorable Mention); Timothy Donahoe; and the winner, Michael Greene, M.D. Not pictured is finalist Aleksandra Stankovic, Ph.D.

Jeff Myers Young Investigator Award: Michael Greene, M.D. (center), accepts the award from Joe Dervay (left) and Jeff Myers (right).

SMA Undergraduate Scholarship: Nicholas Nelson (center) accepts the scholarship from Joe Dervay (left) and Charles Mathers (right).

SMA International Scholarship: Leanne Eveson (center) accepts the scholarship from Joe Dervay (left) and Charles Mathers (right).
SMA Medical & Graduate Education Scholarship: In the center, Lynda Chowdhury (center) accepts the scholarship from Joe Dervay (left) and Charles Mathers (right). This scholarship is sponsored by Jeffrey R. Davis, M.D., Ph.D.

SMA Medical Resident & Post-Doctorate Scholarship (left): Jennie Myers-Pacheco Wang, D.O. (center right), accepts the scholarship from Joe Dervay (far left), Michelle Frieling (center left), and Charles Mathers (far right). This scholarship is sponsored by KBR.

SMA Medical & Graduate Education Scholarship: Jay Shah accepts the scholarship from Joe Dervay (left) and Charles Mathers (right). This scholarship was sponsored by SMA.