SMA Scholarship Winners

September 28, 2021

SMA Scholarship Winners

The Space Medicine Association awarded its 2020 and 2021 scholarships during AsMA's 91st Annual Scientific Meeting in Denver, CO. The winners are noted below, with photos of those who were able to be there.

2021 SMA Undergraduate Scholarship: Sierra Anderson

Sponsored by Dr. Joseph Dervay
Ms. Anderson recently obtained her Bachelor of Science degree in Aerospace Physiology at Embry Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona Beach, FL.

Sierra Anderson accepts the award from Judith Hayes, Past President of SMA (2019-2020) on the left, and Joseph Dervay, the award sponsor, on the right.

2020 SMA Medical & Graduate Education Scholarship: Katie Harris

Sponsored by Dr. Jeffrey Davis
Katie Harris is a third-year medical student and aspiring flight surgeon at the Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada. She obtained a degree in Astrophysics at the University of Toronto, and continued her studies at the International Space University where she completed her individual thesis work with the European Astronaut Centre and her internship with the Neural Systems Group at Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital.

2021 SMA Medical and Graduate Education Scholarship: Ami Mange

Sponsored by Dr. Jeffrey Davis
Ami obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Neuroscience with a Minor in Space Science and Engineering from Johns Hopkins University and is currently enrolled in an MD program at Yale School of Medicine. As an undergraduate, Ami served as a research assistant at UPenn Perelman School of Medicine where she assisted on two NASA-funded studies, one investigating the effects of stress, isolation, and confinement during simulated spaceflight on physiology, emotional health, and cognitive function, and the other investigating the effects of auditory stimulation during simulated spaceflight on slow-wave sleep and cognitive function.

Ami Mange, right, accepts the award from Judith Hayes, Past President of SMA (2019-2020).

2020 SMA Resident & Post-Doctorate Scholarship: Craig Nowadly

Sponsored by KBR in honor of Robert Ellis
Dr. Nowadly completed his medical degree at Georgetown University School of Medicine. He is currently an Emergency Medicine Resident in Washington, D.C., and already has multiple publications, including the toxicity of hydrazine propellant exposure, a case of high-altitude pulmonary edema at South Pole Station, and a systematic review of resuscitation and evacuation from low Earth orbit.

2021 SMA Resident & Post-Doctorate Scholarship: Ari Epstein

Sponsored by KBR in honor of Robert Ellis
Dr. Epstein completed a Bachelor of Arts degree in History with Honors and a minor in Biological Sciences from the University of Chicago. He next completed a DO program at Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine, Midwestern University. He is currently enrolled in a Family Medicine Residency Program at McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University. He participated in the Aerospace Medicine Clerkship at NASA Johnson Space Center where he drafted a White Paper for the Space Medical Operations Division pilot effort to optimize a medical kit for the Orion Exploration-Mission 2. Dr. Epstein is active in both AsMA and AMSRO and currently serves as President of AMSRO.

Ari Epstein, right, accepts the award from Judith Hayes, Past President of SMA (2019-2020; center) and Lynn Pickett, representing KBR, the award sponsor, on the left.

2020 SMA International Scholarship: Michael Green

Michael completed his residency last year and is currently practicing emergency medicine in Vancouver while working part-time in the ICU in Surrey, BC. During residency he completed the UTMB Short Course, Flight surgeon training with the Canadian Forces, an elective with the FAA at CAMI in Oklahoma, worked as a visiting researcher and then consultant for the Space Medicine Team at ESA, and served as the AMSRO parliamentarian/historian for several years. He holds a Diploma in Aviation Medicine from the Royal College of Physicians of London. He is also a licensed professional engineer with experience in spacecraft systems.

Michael Green, right, accepts the award from Judith Hayes, Past President of SMA (2019-2020), on the left.

2020 SMA International Scholarship: Nina Purvis

Dr. Nina Purvis is a final year graduate-entry medical student at Barts and The London School of Medicine in London, UK. She holds an integrated bachelor’s and master’s degree in Astrophysics, a PhD in Physics, a Postgraduate Certificate in Research and Teaching in Higher Education, has completed a postdoctoral fellowship in Oncological Imaging in New York City, and more recently attained an Master of Science in Space Physiology from King’s College London.


2021 SMA International Scholarship: Ahmed Baraka

Ahmed is a clinical pharmacologist at Ahmed Abdelaziz Hospital in Alexandra, Egypt. He is the Founder of the Egyptian Aerospace Medicine Association and Founder of the first regional chapter of the Aerospace Medicine Student and Resident Organization (AMSRO) at Alexandria University, Egypt.