Scholarship Winners Announced

March 13, 2020

Scholarship Winners Announced

The winners of the AsMA International, Jeffrey R. Davis Aerospace Medicine Endowed, Anita Mantri, and Stanley R. Mohler scholarships have been announced. 

AsMA International Aerospace Medicine Scholarship

Katie Harris received the 2020 AsMA International Aerospace Medicine Scholarship. She is an aspiring flight surgeon and aeromedical technology researcher who is currently a first year medical student at the Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada. She holds degrees in Astrophysics (Undergraduate) from the University of Toronto and in Space Studies (Masters) from the International Space University. She first became interested in the development of space technology while building a proof-of-concept multi-object spectrograph during her research fellowship at the Dunlap Institute. She combined that interest with her intention to pursue medicine and became inspired by how the development of physiological countermeasures and monitoring technologies for space, as well as telemedicine practices, can be adapted to improve healthcare on the ground. In that vein, she is currently pursuing two countermeasure and monitoring research projects focused on lower body negative pressure (with researchers at the European Astronaut Centre and University of California San Diego) and near-infrared cerebral monitoring (Neural Systems Group, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School) concurrently with her medical studies. In order to build operational experience, Katie also has earned a private pilot license and an open water diver certification. She has received a variety of scholarships, including Dr. Mike Bautista Scholarship, St. Bonaventure’s College; Chancellor’s Scholarship, Ashbaugh Fund, Trinity College; John Pounder Scholarship in Astronomy and Astrophysics; European Space Agency Masters of Space Studies Scholarship; and Moblitwin Twin Cities Scholarship. Other honors she has received include an Honorable Mention, Abstract Competition, Psychiatry Department, Massachusetts General Hospital; Manx Precision Optics Prize; Gordon Cressy Student Leadership Award; and was a Canadian Space Agency International Space Education Board Sponsored Student for the International Astronautical Congress.

Jeffrey R. Davis, M.D., Aerospace Medicine Endowed Scholarship

Kseniya Masterova was the recipient of the 2020 Jeffrey R. Davis, M.D., Aerospace Endowed Scholarship. She graduated from Loyola University Chicago in 2016 with a B.S. in physics, biology, and biophysics. During her undergraduate studies, she interned at NASA Johnson Space Center in the Lifetime of Surveillance of Astronaut Health Department, through the National Space Biomedical Research Institute (NSBRI) NASA Apprenticeship Program. After graduating, she spent her gap year working as a research assistant in the Space Medicine Innovations Lab at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth. She is now a third year M.D./Ph.D. student on the Aerospace Medicine track at the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB), pursuing her Ph.D. in Rehabilitation Science. Since beginning her education at UTMB, she has completed two research rotations at NASA JSC in the divisions of Exploration Medical Capability and Exercise Physiology. For her Ph.D. thesis she hopes to study the impact of spaceflight bone microenvironment on breast and prostate cancer metastasis to bone. She is a member and currently President of AsMA’s Aerospace Medicine Student and Resident Organization (AMSRO) and is also a student member of the Space Medicine Association (SMA), and the American Society of Aerospace Medicine Specialists. Her honors and awards include the Damen Scholarship from Loyola University of Chicago, the Jeffrey R. Davis Space Medicine Scholarship from SMA, the AsMA Fellows Scholarship, the Texas Space Grant Consortium Graduate Fellowship, and the Arthur V. Simmang Scholarship.

Anita Mantri Memorial Travel Scholarship

Ben Johnson was selected to receive the 2020 Anita Mantri Memorial Travel Scholarship. He holds an M.Sc. from the University of Edinburgh School of Philosophy, Psychology, and Language Sciences, Edinburgh, United Kingdom and a B.S. in Human Science from Georgetown University School of Nursing and Health Studies, Washington, DC. He is currently working on another M.Sc. at King’s College London, Faculty of Life Sciences and Medicine, in London, United Kingdom. He is also attending Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD, and expects to graduate with an M.D. in May 2023. He has served as a Laboratory Assistant at Van Gelder Lab, University of Washington, in 2014 and 2015, as an Astrobiology Lab Assistant at Johnson Biosignatures Lab, Georgetown University, from 2016-2017, and in 2017 he also spent the summer as a volunteer Emergency Medical Technician for the Clear Lake Emergency Medical Corps in Houston. That same summer, he was a Behavioral and Performance Intern at NASA’s Johnson Space Center. In 2018, he served as a Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Lab Assistant, Davis-Takacs lab, John Hopkins School of Medicine. His honors include being chosen for the Georgetown Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program, a GUROP Summer Fellowship, a Sally Ride Internship, Honorable Mention in the Space Medicine Association’s Jeff Myers Young Investigator Award, and the William Walker Award for Psychiatric Research. He is a member of the Aerospace Medical Association, the Space Medicine Association, and the Aerospace Medicine Student and Resident Organization. He is also a member of the American College of Physicians, the American Medical Association, the Wilderness Medical Society, and the American College of Preventive Medicine.

Stanley R. Mohler, M.D., Aerospace Medicine Endowed Scholarship

Stefan McAllister completed a B.S. degree in psychology and a M.S. degree in biology with a concentration in molecular genetics and biochemistry at Georgia State University. He also completed an M.S.P.H. degree (honors) at Meharry Medical College. After graduating, he interned at the NASA Ames Research Center in the Psychophysiological Research Laboratory and the Vision Science and Technology Group. He was also a certified trainer for the NASA sponsored Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment (GLOBE) Soil Moisture Active Passive program. His involvement in the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA) includes serving as one of the pioneer organizers of the first and second AsMA Speed Mentoring Sessions, which took place during the 87th and 88th Annual AsMA Scientific Meetings. Additionally, his participation in AsMA includes serving as Deputy Chair of the AsMA Ad Hoc Committee on Career Development and Co-Chair/Moderator of an AsMA Scientific Meeting Session titled “Operative Performance in Aerospace Interface Operations.” In addition, he held the office of Treasurer-Membership Coordinator of AsMA’s Aerospace Medicine Student and Resident Organization (AMSRO) from 2017 through 2019. His other contributions to AMSRO include serving as Chair/Co-Chair of the AMSRO Scientific Paper Award Committee (co-designed the current system of scoring scientific abstracts and selecting awardees) and being a member of the AMSRO International Outreach Committee, the AMSRO Mentorship Committee, and the AMSRO Outstanding Mentorship Award Committee. He served as the founder and Chair of the AMSRO Chapter Establishment and Coordinating Committee and championed the establishment of the first AMSRO chapter located at a university, along with seven other chapters. Currently, he is a member of the National Stuttering Association Research Committee and aspires to become a research scientist within the field of aerospace medicine.