Northrup Is AsMA President; Dervay Is President-Elect

July 28, 2022

Northrup Is AsMA President; Dervay Is President-Elect

Susan E. Northrup, M.D., M.P.H., FAsMA, was installed as President of AsMA during the Annual Business Meeting, held May 24, 2022 at the Peppermill Resort and Casino in Reno, NV.

In 2021 Dr. Northrup was appointed as the first female FAA Federal Air Surgeon. She joined the FAA in April 2007 as the Southern Regional Flight Surgeon. She is now responsible for all aerospace medicine efforts within the FAA including airman medical certification, air traffic control health program, AME designee management, internal and external substance abuse testing, and aeromedical research. She was awarded the FAA’s Flight Surgeon of the Year Award in 2008 and Outstanding Manager in 2018. In 2017, she was selected as the Senior Regional Flight Surgeon with operational responsibilities for the entire nation. Prior to joining the FAA, she was Regional Medical Director for Air Crew and Passenger Health Services for Delta Air Lines from 2001 to 2005, Medical Consultant for the National Pilots Association 2005 to 2007, and did other consulting from 2005–2007. She served in the U.S. Air Force on active duty from 1990 to 2001, and as a Reservist from 2001 to 2010, retiring as a Colonel.
   Dr. Northrup obtained a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry with Honors in Liberal Arts from The Ohio State University in 1985 and stayed on to get her Medical Degree in 1989. She was awarded a Masters in Public Health from the University of Texas, Health Science Center Houston, School of Public Health in 1994. She completed Residencies in Aerospace Medicine and Occupational Medicine in 1995 and 1996, respectively, becoming Board Certified in both disciplines.
   A private pilot, Dr. Northrup is an acknowledged expert in aviation medicine. While serving in the Air Force, she was the U.S. Head of Delegation to NATO’s aeromedical working group. More recently, she has served the FAA as the FAA medical subject matter expert to ICAO’s COVID response activities and the COVID IMT and the Office of Aerospace Liaison to the Air Traffic Organization.
   Dr. Northrup’s awards and honors include TAC Flight Surgeon of the Year, the Air Force Meritorious Service Medal with two oak leaf clusters, the Air Force Achievement Medal with a single oak leaf cluster, and the Air Force Outstanding Unit Award with Valor and a single oak leaf cluster. The Aerospace Medical Association presented her with the John A. Tamisiea Award in 2015 and the Admiral John C. Adams Award in 2020. A Fellow of AsMA, she is a member of the Red River Valley Fighter Pilots Association, the Society of USAF Flight Surgeons, the International Airline Medical Association, the Civil Aviation Medical Association, and the American Society of Aerospace Medicine Specialists. She spent nine years (2007–2016) as a trustee for the American Board of Preventive Medicine in several capacities, including as the Vice Chair Aerospace Medicine. She is also a Selector for the International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine and was Chair of the Air Transportation Association Medical Committee. She is on the Adjunct Faculty for the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine.

Joseph P. Dervay, M.D., M.P.H., MMS, FACEP, FAsMA, FUHMS, was elected as President-Elect of AsMA during the Annual Business Meeting, on May 24, 2022. He will be installed as President next year. Dr. Dervay is currently a Flight Surgeon at the NASA Johnson Space Center, having served there over 25 years. Completing undergrad at Cornell University, and a Doctor of Medicine at Syracuse - Upstate Medical Center, he subsequently trained to become a Navy Flight Surgeon, serving aboard the aircraft carrier USS John F. Kennedy.
   Dr. Dervay completed an Emergency Medicine Residency at The George Washington University, Space Medicine Fellowship and Aerospace Medicine Residency at UTMB Galveston/NASA, and Hyperbaric Medicine training at University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston.
   Dr. Dervay has served as Crew Surgeon during numerous Space Shuttle and long-duration International Space Station missions, including support of the 2020 NASA/SpaceX Demo-2 test flight as the first Commercial Crew mission. His roles have included work in Russia at the Star City Cosmonaut training center, and support of U.S. astronauts during
Soyuz launch and landing activities in Kazakhstan. He co-chairs the Multilateral Medical Operations Panel, comprised of medical representatives from the Canadian, European, Japanese, and Russian space agencies. He completed research on Bubble Nucleation at Altitude during his Master of Medical Sciences degree and has been deeply involved with development of NASA EVA Prebreathe Protocols.
   Retiring with the Navy rank of captain, Dr. Dervay completed 35-years of Active and Reserve service with numerous Navy & Marine Corps units worldwide. He has been a member of AsMA since 1985. Prior to selection as President-Elect, he served 3 years as an AsMA Vice President. Over his years of service to AsMA, he served four 3-year terms on AsMA council as a Member-at-Large, and several years on the Executive Committee. He has been a longstanding member of
the Scientific Program Committee and was Scientific Program Chair for the 2007 meeting in New Orleans. He has served as Chair of the Communications, Membership, and Resolutions Committees. He has been a member of numerous Constituent and Affiliate organizations, including the Society of U.S. Naval Flight Surgeons and International Association of Military Pilot-Physicians. He served as President of the Society of NASA FlightsSurgeons and the Space Medicine Association. An AsMA Fellow, he was inducted into the International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine (IAASM).

Other elected officials are: Vice Presidents: Robert Orford, M.D., CM, MS, M.P.H. (2-yr term), Warren Silberman, D.O., M.P.H. (2-yr term), and Rebecca Blue, M.D. (1-yr term – to complete Dervay's term); and Treasurer: Casey Pruett, B.S., M.S., MBA. Members-at-Large are: Ilaria Cinelli, Ph.D., W. Brent Klein, M.D., M.P.H., Peter Lee, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S., and Anthony Wagstaff, M.B.B.Ch., D.Av.Med.